Home AAP Mission Board & Staff History of AAP E-Region Leader Why Join? Member Application Give To AAP/PLAN Advance Legislative Issues Contact AAP Write Congress!

Board of Directors & Staff

Jeffrey E. Barnett, Psy.D., ABPP

Dr. Barnett is a licensed psychologist in independent practice in Maryland. He also is a Professor on the Affiliate Faculty of the Department of Psychology of Loyola College in Maryland. He has been a leader in the profession of psychology in his state of Maryland and nationally. He is a Past President of the Maryland Psychological Association and two APA divisions. He has served on APA’s Council of Representatives and in numerous other leadership positions on the state and national level. Dr. Barnett is also a Fellow of six APA divisions, is a Distinguished Practitioner of the National Academies of Practice, and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional Psychology in Clinical Psychology and Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology.

An active advocate on behalf of the profession of psychology, Dr. Barnett has received numerous awards including: The AAP’s Outstanding Advocate Award, APA’s State Leadership Award, and APA’s Karl F. Heiser Presidential Award for Advocacy. An active leader and participant in advocacy activities and initiatives, he currently serves as administrator of the Heiser Award program. Email - .

Jean Carter, Ph.D. - Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Jean Carter maintains a psychotherapy practice in Washington, DC, with particular emphases on serious trauma and on the integration of career/work issues with psychological processes. As a member of the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice, secretary of Psychologists in Independent Practice (Division 42 of APA), co-chair of the National Academies of Practice in Psychology, and president of the Division of Counseling Psychology, she has wide-ranging knowledge of practice issues for psychologists. 

Her work has been recognized through being named Fellow in APA’s Divisions 17, 29 and 42, an APA Presidential Citation for initiatives on the integration of APA and its divisions, the John Black Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Practice of Counseling Psychology, and the first Academy of Counseling Psychology Advocacy Award.  She is a founding member of the Institute of Contemporary Psychotherapy in Washington, DC, and is an adjunct member of the graduate faculty in counseling psychology at the University of Maryland. Email -

Ronald E. Fox, Ph.D. - Chair

Ron Fox is the Executive Director of The Consulting Group, a division of HRC, with offices in Chapel Hill and Raleigh, N.C. specializing in executive coaching and organizational change.  He is the current Chair of CAPP and a Council Representative for APA’s Division of Psychotherapy (29).  He is a past president and a former recording secretary of APA.  He is credited with the creation of a number of important professional initiatives including:  the Practice Directorate and the special assessment; the School of Professional Psychology at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio; and the Association of Psychology Internship Centers. 

His recognitions include:  American Psychological Foundation Award for Career Contributions to Practice, APA Award from the Board of Educational Affairs for Career Contributions to Education, and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Ethnic Minority Issues. Email -   

Jennifer F. Kelly, Ph.D.

Dr. Kelly is a licensed clinical psychologist in independent practice in Atlanta specializing in Health Psychology. In addition to maintaining a private practice, Dr. Kelly is actively involved in the profession of Psychology. A past president of the Georgia Psychological Association, she serves as the Federal Advocacy/Grassroots Coordinator of the Association and represents Georgia on APA’s Council of Representatives. She serves as Chair of the Committee of State Leaders and is a member of APA’s Board of Professional Affairs. She serves as APA Diversity Task Force Chairs for Divisions 31 and 29. She has received Georgia’s Legislative Award, the APA Karl F. Heiser Advocacy Award, and APA’s Federal Advocacy Award.

She is a member of the Advisory Board of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference-Women (SCLC), and is a member of the Executive Committee of Project Interconnections, an organization in the metro Atlanta area devoted to providing housing for the homeless mentally ill. Email - .

Nanci Klein, Ph.D., Newsletter Editor 

Dr. Klein is a licensed psychologist in private practice and founding member of the Utah Institute for Psychotherapy and Training in Salt Lake City. She is also the Director of Professional Affairs for the Utah Psychological Association (UPA), a position in which she has served for the past eight years. In this position, Dr. Klein was directly involved in advocacy efforts in the Utah State Legislature for hospital privileges for psychologists, mental health parity, and mental health licensing law issues. She also served as Federal Advocacy Coordinator for Utah for three years.

Dr. Klein currently represents UPA on the APA Council of Representatives. She also currently serves as chair of the CAPP Implementation Work Group for Integrating the Diverse Practice Agenda, an advisory group to CAPP on identification and integration of common state and division practice issues.

Dr. Klein is the editor of AAP's quarterly newsletter, the Advance, a capacity in which she has served since 1997. Email -

Stephen M. Pfeiffer, Ph.D. - Executive Director

Dr. Stephen M. Pfeiffer became the Executive Director of the Association for the Advancement of Psychology (AAP) in 1997, having previously served as a member of its Board of Trustees and as its Newsletter Editor.  For three years he served as a consultant  to the APA Practice Directorate’s government relations department on matters pertaining to federal advocacy for psychology.

In private practice for nearly twenty years in La Jolla, California, Dr.  Pfeiffer worked both as a psychotherapist and as a consultant to corporate clients.   He participated in the governance of the Academy of San Diego Psychologists, having served in several capacities, including President.  He is the recipient of the APA Karl Heiser Award,  a Fellow of APA’s Division 42, and was elected as a Distinguished Practitioner in the National Academies of Practice in Psychology. Email -

Karen Rivard - Administrative Director

Karen Rivard has been the Administrative Director of AAP since 1989 when Dr.  Rogers Wright was appointed Executive Director.  It was at that time that AAP’s Administrative Office was moved from Washington, D.C. to Colorado Springs.  Ms. Rivard is responsible for all the day-to-day operations of AAP which include:  maintaining AAP’s membership database, tracking dues payments and PLAN contributions. and filing extensive reports with the Federal Election Commission detailing AAP/PLAN’s (AAP’s political action committee) activities. Email -

Judith Steller, Ph.D.

Dr. Steller has maintained a private psychology practice in St. Paul, MN for over 25 years.  She has been President of the Minnesota State Psychological Association and its Federal Advocacy Coordinator.  She was a founding mother of Minnesota Women Psychologists and a Board member of Minnesota Psychologists in Private Practice.  She has been a leader in advocating for several state issues important to the profession of psychology.  Dr. Steller has actively worked on the participation of psychologists in political fund-raising and advocacy for state legislative and U.S. Congressional candidates.  She was one of the writers of APA’s Handbook for Hospital Psychology.

Dr. Steller has received the Karl Heiser Award for Advocacy from APA, the Practice Directorate’s award for leadership in federal advocacy initiatives, and the AAP’s annual advocacy award. Email -